Welcome to the website of Gérard Zinsstag

Copenhagen, November 2010, with the  Ensemble Athelas
Copenhagen, November 2010, with the Ensemble Athelas (Picture Nicolas Miribel)

After a period during which Gérard Zinsstag concentrated on noise through instrumental research and on abrupt formal constructions, he started listening carefully to sounds and working with composer of « spectral » music, basically at l’Itinéraire.

The tendancy of his music now « allows for more expression in the material and more intuition in the gesture » ; connoted musical objects burst forth as memory interferes more and more often.

No one can predict on what paths Gérard Zinsstag will tread in the future. But one need not worry : there will always be adventure, resulting from the most unexpected encounters with people and with sounds. Searchers who take a long time to carry out their plans are often the most stubborn.

Frank Langlois, 1993


  • Suite pour flûte, alto et harpe
  • Notturno pour violoncelle et ensemble
  • Klavierquartett
  • Katharina Lips, pour 16 voix a cappella

Last update: December 2017